• Home
  • Reviews
  • Articles
  • News
  • Tools
  • GamingHeaven
  • Forums
  • Network
 

Go Back   DriverHeaven.net > Forums > Graphics Cards > nVidia Graphic Cards

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old Oct 7, 2004, 10:21 PM   #1
DriverHeaven Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
theanomaly is on a distinguished road

??? Asus V9999gt

Alright I'm kinda confused on this card. zipzoomfly and newegg both list this card as the V9999GT with 128MB of DDR1 but when i went to asus.com to find out some more information on the card it showed it as a V9999GT Deluxe with 256MB of DDR3. What's the deal?
theanomaly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2004, 06:42 AM   #2
DriverHeaven Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 71
Yallrun is on a distinguished road

Yeah I say newegg and zipzoomfly are mistaken or trying to pull a fast one. The 128 card is V9999/TD/128 and the 256 is V9999GT. Read the post about leadtek rip off, kind of similar and misleading with the web site ad.

I just saw what you talking about they are calling it a v9999GT/TD/128. According to ASUS the GT is wrong the TD is correct for the 128 card. Should be just TD. It's enough for the web site to weasel out if someone acused the of a misleading ad. If you want a 256 card get the GT or the Gamer edition. If you want the 128, it's the TD.

Yallrun

Last edited by Yallrun; Oct 8, 2004 at 06:59 AM.
Yallrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2004, 07:19 AM   #3
DriverHeaven Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 71
Yallrun is on a distinguished road

lol I did a little more looking, it looks like just by them adding the GT to the 128 card, they added 100 buck to the price! lol Man I own both XFX6800GT/256 and a XFX6800/128 and the 128 card was only $280. Yeah I say there trying to make an extra 100 off peps by tossing GT letters in there, don't fall for it. Those 2 site are advertising the V9999GT/TD/128 FOR $380 and the other site is like $369. There crazy! You can get a 6800GT/256 all over the place for $399 or cheaper. Other sites are doing the same it's not just those 2. But according to ASUS there is no GT/TD/128, only TD/128.

Yallrun
Yallrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2004, 08:04 AM   #4
DriverHeaven Extreme Member
 
Danhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4,116
Danhill is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yallrun
But according to ASUS there is no GT/TD/128, only TD/128.
Yallrun
Yepps and they only have 12 pipes as well, stay far far away from those.
Danhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2004, 09:26 AM   #5
DriverHeaven Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
theanomaly is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yallrun
Yeah I say newegg and zipzoomfly are mistaken or trying to pull a fast one. The 128 card is V9999/TD/128 and the 256 is V9999GT. Read the post about leadtek rip off, kind of similar and misleading with the web site ad.

I just saw what you talking about they are calling it a v9999GT/TD/128. According to ASUS the GT is wrong the TD is correct for the 128 card. Should be just TD. It's enough for the web site to weasel out if someone acused the of a misleading ad. If you want a 256 card get the GT or the Gamer edition. If you want the 128, it's the TD.

Yallrun
yea i called asus and they said that the GT is suppose to come out this month
theanomaly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2004, 06:59 PM   #6
Caffeine Machine
 
MiDKnYtE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hell is empty. All the devils are here.
Posts: 670
MiDKnYtE is on a distinguished road

asus is making some weird off-reference spec models. Be very careful if you want an asus card. I don't think they are worth the extra money.

The "gamer" edition has the core of a 6800NU with memory of a 6800GT on a 6800U PCB.
http://www.driverheaven.net/reviews/asus_saph_review/
MiDKnYtE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2004, 03:13 PM   #7
DriverHeaven Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
kelvinz is on a distinguished road

hmm I'm running into a problem with this name as well I was about to buy this card off newegg but I'm n ot sure if its really a GT or not?

the asus site says it has a 6800gt gpu?

http://usa.asus.com/products/vga/v9999gt/overview.htm
kelvinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2004, 03:33 PM   #8
Caffeine Machine
 
MiDKnYtE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hell is empty. All the devils are here.
Posts: 670
MiDKnYtE is on a distinguished road

Just avoid these cards. Looks like it is a GT core with DDR memory (NOT GDDR3) on a 6800 PCB. If you're going to spend the $$, get a real GT from BFG, Gainward, etc.
MiDKnYtE is offline   Reply With Quote
 

 
Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Artwork by Allan 'Zardon' Campbell, vBulletin implementation by Craig '5320' Humphreys based on original artwork by Ratchet.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM. Copyright ©2008 HeavenMedia.net